www.jobspot100.com

Where do I find the best recruitment agencies? How do I find a job? More ...
Rules and info: Please use the UAE classifieds forum to post ads for jobs wanted or offered. Links: Work in Dubai | Recruitment Dubai | UAE Labour Department

www.jobspot100.com

Postby juliahere on 25 Aug 2009, 12:31

Is anyone a member of www.jobspot100.com?

I've come across a nice work from home data entry site with a membership fee of $29.95 and want to know if it is a legitimate site. It claims to provide training, software, and real jobs. I'm just tired of being scammed and want to make sure this is the real deal.
juliahere
visitor
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 25 Aug 2009, 12:21

Is www.jobspot100.com website genuine?

Postby juliahere on 25 Aug 2009, 12:55

Is www.jobspot100.com website genuine?

Is anybody doing the on line jobs from the website www.jobspot100.com? Is this a genuine site? Are they providing real online jobs and also makes payment for work?
juliahere
visitor
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 25 Aug 2009, 12:21

www.jobspot100.com juliahere

Postby shawarma on 25 Aug 2009, 13:06

The website for jobs spot 100 / jobspot100 / jobs pot 100 (www.jobspot100.com) appears to be designed to make the owners money primarily from advertising, not from finding people jobs. That's not to say they don't help people but it's hard to tell. It looks like jobspot100 collect job ads from other places on the internet (Gulf News ads / GNAds4U was one place), then post them again on their own website. Appears to be no charges for employees seeking jobs, or employers advertising for workers. Email contact on all (or all the ones I looked at) is jobspot100@gmail.com.

That may be fine (or not, depends whether the Gulf News is happy for their classified ads to be copied and reposted) but what is irksome is the way that www.jobspot100.com posts spam on forums on the internet. The above two posts are examples of the misleading way www.jobspot100.com tries to lure job hunters to their website (posts were separate topics, have been merged into this topic, user juliashere deactivated).

So what's the big deal? Well perhaps nothing, after all, the internet is an information source and so if legitimate information is provided (and one assumes classified ads from UAE newspapers are legitimate) surely that's helpful to internet users? Well, there's 3 problems at least.

1. Forum posts by www.jobspot100.com are misleading and designed to fool people into helping them drive traffic to their website to click on their adsense advertising and generate income.
2. Just copying information without permission is not usually regarded as acceptable by most people, especially the owners of that information.
3. www.jobspot100.com spammed this forum and we don't like spam. Usually it's deleted with no fuss or fanfare, but this one seemed to be worth highlighting.

So what to do?

1. Well, don't pay any money to Dubai recruitment organisations for finding you a job in the first place, whether online or not.
2. Preferably stick to the original sources of job advertisements in Dubai and the UAE, or reputable employment agencies.
3. Don't link to Job Spot 100 or similar websites unless you want to help promote them (if you want to link to this post instead, we're quite happy with that :)). Links to http://www.jobspot100.com/ in this post have been deactivated so that jobspot receives no benefit from the Google and other search engines that find this topic.

And why pick on Jobspot 100, aren't there hundreds or thousands of websites like this one? Well yes, but they spammed this forum and drew our attention to them, otherwise we'd have never known, or if we had, probably wouldn't have bothered.

What could be more of a concern is their collection of private data - you can register for a Job Spot 100 account but there's no need to since all the job ads (at least the ones I looked at) have telephone contact details for the employer already listed. Could be a way to add your email and contact details to a spam list or worse.
Please use the forum for questions, not the PM system.
shawarma
moderator
 
Posts: 2580
Joined: 27 Sep 2007, 00:39

Dubai job information

Postby shawarma on 25 Aug 2009, 13:50

If you're looking for a job in Dubai, or Abu Dhabi or elsewhere in the UAE, then these information pages might help.

Dubai CV - not that there is a CV unique to Dubai but some ideas anyway
Dubai job websites - a list of some dedicated job hunting websites for Dubai and the UAE
Newspapers in the UAE - where to find the original classified ads
Online jobs Dubai - some information about finding a job online for Abu Dhabi, Dubai, and the UAE
Recruitment Dubai - some real job agencies that might actually help you find a job
Work in Dubai - general information
www.jobs123.com (link is to information, not website) - a slightly different approach to making money from job advertisement websites although the forum spamming they do is the same principle (pretend to be a casual visitor rather than someone from the website).
Please use the forum for questions, not the PM system.
shawarma
moderator
 
Posts: 2580
Joined: 27 Sep 2007, 00:39

Have you received a real job from www.jobspot100.com?

Postby juliaheres on 26 Aug 2009, 11:19

Is Jobspot100.com REAL? I have not got any work yet! Using them has been a waste of money....Have e you been a victim to www.jobspot100.com?
juliaheres
visitor
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 26 Aug 2009, 11:05

www.jobspot100.com spam

Postby shawarma on 26 Aug 2009, 12:47

More spam from Job Spot 100 posted as new topic (with different user name), merged with this topic (above), member juliaheres deactivated.
Please use the forum for questions, not the PM system.
shawarma
moderator
 
Posts: 2580
Joined: 27 Sep 2007, 00:39


Return to Work in the UAE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests