Absconding penalty in Dubai

Visit visas, work permits, residency visas Abu Dhabi, Dubai, UAE etc. Can I work on a visit visa? Who pays for my work permit? How long is my tourist visa valid for? More ...
Forum rules
Please add a follow up post if you have a question and find an answer. It will help other readers. Thanks :). Links: Visa Dubai | Dubai immigration | UAE immigration | Property visa Dubai |

Absconding penalty in Dubai

Postby salman9 » 20 Feb 2010, 13:58

Hi,

I have really confusing situation.. I had been working with a firm for a period of 4 months, but due to some problems i had to leave the firm but by then i was already in a 3 year visa given by them, but even after working for 4 months they gave me an NOC. I have the Noc and passport with me, the issue is the NOC is dated in October, and i have not been succesful in finding a new job, a few days back they have put up an absconding case against me, now its been almost 5 months since i have left the firm. I want to cancel my visa and leave back to my home country (India). Wht will the problems i willbe facing if i go to the Immigration directly to cancel my visa, i am fine with a 6mnth or 1 year ban. But will i face a jail term or a life ban, will i have to pay money to cancel and move out from here ?? please do advice me as am really confused and worried ?
salman9
visitor

Absconding case results in jail in Dubai?

Postby shawarma » 21 Feb 2010, 00:46

Hello salman9 and welcome to the Dubai visa forum :)

1. As far as I know, before a company can cancel a Dubai residence visa of an employee who is absent, they have to file an absconding case.

2. An NOC might not help you avoid a Dubai ban anyway as you have been working for less than 1 year.